Oxford Commentary on the Dead Sea Scrolls

The Oxford Commentary on the Dead Sea Scrolls is a series intended for the scholarly study of the most important non-biblical Dead Sea Scrolls. It aims to provide scholarship of the highest level that is accessible to non-specialists, based on the best digitized images and readings. Each volume will include a synthetic and substantial introduction, followed by a line-by-line commentary on the scrolls. The commentary will provide an English translation, textual notes and thematic discussions of the original Hebrew text of the scrolls.

NEWS

Join us as Steven Fraade discusses his newest volume of the OCDSS series: The Damascus Document. Click HERE to register here for the 1-hour event, which will take place via Zoom on 16 December 2021, 10:00-11:00am EST (3-4pm GMT; 4-5pm CET; 5-6pm IST). Those who attend will receive a 30% discount code from OUP to purchase the Damascus Document or the Pesher Habakkuk by Timothy Lim.

READ MORE

ABOUT

The series is intended for a broad readership of scholars and students who work in the fields of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament Studies, or in other areas of Early Judaism. Published by Oxford University Press, each volume will expound on the religious ideas and themes of the scrolls.

General Editor
Timothy H. Lim (University of Edinburgh)
Profile page

Advisory Board
John J. Collins (Yale University)
Sidnie White Crawford (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Reinhard Kratz (University of Göttingen)
Raija Sollamo (University of Helsinki)

VOLUMES

  • The Thanksgiving Scroll

    Carol A. Newsom
    Emory University
  • The War Scroll

    Guy Stiebel
    Tel Aviv University
  • The Community Rule

    John J. Collins and James Nati
    Yale Divinity School and Jesuit School of Theology
  • The Damascus Document

    Steven Fraade
    Yale University
    READ MORE
  • Pesher Nahum & Pesher Psalms

    Reinhard Kratz
    Universität Göttingen
  • The Pesher Habbakuk

    Timothy H. Lim
    University of Edinburgh
    READ MORE
  • The Temple Scroll

    Sidnie Crawford
    University of Nebraska
  • 4QMMT ‘Some Precepts of the Torah’

    Vered Noam
    Tel Aviv University
  • The Genesis Apocryphon

    Daniel Machiela
    McMaster University
  • The Songs of the Sabbath Sacrifice

    Noam Mizrahi
    Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Tom Perridge (OUP Editor)
Oxford University Press
Oxford

Karen Raith (OUP Project Editor)
Oxford University Press
Oxford

Connor Boyd (Editorial Assistant)
New College
University of Edinburgh


    account_circle


    account_box


    email


    The University of Edinburgh is a charitable body, registered in Scotland, with registration number SC005336, VAT Registration Number GB 592 9507 00, and is acknowledged by the UK authorities as a "Recognized body" which has been granted degree awarding powers.

    Unless explicitly stated otherwise, all material is copyright © The University of Edinburgh 2020.